Introduction to Sharing [Accessibility 101]

Team and Workspace Accessibility Model

Before you start creating workspaces, inviting team members or guests, or start sharing pages (either public, private or password protected), you want to make sure you understand the accessibility model for your Team and your team's workspaces. You will be able to better control collaboration and sharing and have a better understand of what data is accessibile and what users are visibile.

Overview of Sharing

  • A user on your team is called your team member
  • A guest is a user who is not on your team
  • Users can be invited to workspaces where they have access to all files, tasks and pages in that workspace
  • When pages are shared, they can be shared via web-link by non-users.  No sign-in required.
  • Sharing can be revoked at any time
  • Team members can set their own workspaces to Read-Only which limits control and ability to edit by guests
  • Administrators have full visibility and can see everything that a team member can see.

User Types in TeamPlatform

Team Member

A user on your team is called your team member. Your team members may be administrators or just plain members.  You share some common team settings with other members of your team such as company logo, domain name, groups, labels, and custom fields.

Guest

A guest is a user who is not on your team.  A guest may be on another team, or they may not be associated with a team at all (No Team).  You can collaborate with guests through shared workspaces or discussions.

Non-User

A Non-User does not have a TeamPlatform account and therefore cannot log-in to TeamPlatform and is not part of any team, nor shared in any workspaces.  Shared Pages can be accessed by Non-user because shared pages do not require a user account to access.

Overview of User Visibility

  • Can you see another user?  
  • Can another user see you?  
  • Can your guests see each other?

Basic Visibility Rules

Users can only know about each other if they are collaborating within the same workspace* or have collaborated with another user on their own team. 

A user can see another user only if that user

  1. Is Shared in the same workspace* or discussion

  2. Is on their team (Team members can see their own team members)

  3. Is Shared in the same workspace or discussion with someone on their team

  4. Adds a comment on a Shared Page while logged in

*Read-only workspaces are an exception to this. When a team shares a workspace as Read-Only, guests cannot see each other.

2.png

Information About Read-Only Workspaces

Read-only permissions only affect guests of the workspace owner; they do not affect members on the workspace owner's team. When you share a workspace or a template with the Read-only for Guests option, guests of your team will access it with the following read-only permissions.  

Read-only Permissions for Guests

When you share a workspace or a template with the Read-only for Guests option, 
guests of your team will access it with the following read-only permissions.

  1. Cannot edit any content and DWM sync is not allowed.
  2. Cannot access the Overview tab and People tab
  3. Cannot leave a comment on any content.
  4. Can view comments, files, pages, tasks, and custom fields.
  5. Can download files.
  6. In case of a template, they can use it to create new workspaces.
You can check the list of your team members or guests in the Users menu.

Diagrams

Basic Accessibility Diagram

accessibiliy_diagram.jpg

Accessibility Diagram.  Users can be invited or removed from a workspace at any time. 
Pages can be shared or made private.

Related Topics and Links

Collaboration & Sharing Settings  |  What happens in Read-Only Workspaces?  |  Page Sharing with Custom Logo  |  

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk